Home / Cricket / Indian Cricketers win Awards
(Source: Getty Images)

Indian Cricketers win Awards

Indian opening batsman Rohit Sharma has been named ODI Cricketer of the Year by the ICC (International Cricket Council). The top scorer in one day cricket in 2019, Sharma scored seven centuries, include five during the World Cup.

Meanwhile his captain Virat Kohli was given the “Spirit of Cricket” award. It was given to him for his gesture to the crowd during that same tournament in a group match against Australia, urging them to cheer for ex-Aussie skipper Steve Smith.

Another Indian to be recognised was bowler Deepak Chahar who was given the T20I Performance of the Year award for his achievement in a match against Bangladesh in November, when he took 6 for 7, including a hat-trick.

The Test Cricketer of the Year was named as Australia’s Pat Cummins, who took 59 wickets in the format in the course of 2019. Cummins, of course, recently became the most expensive overseas player in the history of the IPL when he was bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for Rs. 15.5 crore in the 2020 Players’ Auction.

The prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the world player of the year went to Ben Stokes of England. Stokes won the award for his significant contribution to England’s World Cup Trophy, and also in recognition of the innings he played against Australia in the third test at Headingly. He led his side to a one-wicket victory. Soring 135 not out, and putting on an unbeaten 76 for the final wicket with last man Jack Leach (who scored just one!).

Elsewhere, former England international cricketer, Richard Illingworth, was named ICC Umpire of the Year, whilst Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer picked up the trophy for Associate Player of the Year.

Kohli’s award will come as small consolation for Kohli after he had a dismal day in the office on Tuesday. Used to achieving new landmarks almost every week, he set a new, unwanted record at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, when he became the first Indian skipper to suffer a ten wicket defeat at the hands of Australia in an ODI, with David Warner and Aaron Finch putting the home side’s bowling attack to the sword, with an unbeaten opening partnership of 258.



About India Bet

India Bet
India Bet specialise in providing information about the best Sports Betting and Online Casino bonuses which apply specifically to Indian based players. Read the reviews and also pick up some great value free bet offers. If you would like to know any further information, you can contact us at [email protected]

Check Also

Pujara Joins Select Group

Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara has joined a select group of batsmen by scoring his 50th …