Home / Cricket / BCCI Awards
Photo 194756302 © - Dreamstime.com

BCCI Awards

Indian fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah picked up two awards at the BCCI Annual Awards function on Sunday, He was given the prestigious Polly Umrigar award bestowed on the best international cricketer of the year, and also shared the Dilip Sardesai award for taking the most wickets in test cricket. Bumrah took 34 wickets in 6 matches in 2019, including three five-wicket hauls, despite missing the last three months of the season with a back injury.

The Polly Umrigar award, apart from the trophy and a citation, comes with a cheque of Rs. 15 lakh.

Bumrah, in spite of his injury, remains the world’s number one ODI bowler, and, having made his return in the recent T20Is against Sri Lanka, is expected to have a big role to play in the forthcoming series against Australia and New Zealand.

He shared the Dilip Sardesai award with Cheteshwar Pujara, who was given it as the top Indian batsman in test cricket last year, scoring 677 runs in 8 matches at an average of 52,07. That included three hundreds and two half-centuries. His award came just a day after Pujara joined the select group of individuals who have scored fifty or more centuries in first-class cricket.

Meanwhile, leg-spinner Poonam Yadav, who recently received the Arjuna Award in recognition of her cricketing achievements, followed that up by collecting the award for the best international women’s cricketer.

Two former Indian captains, Krishnamachari Srikkanth and Anjum Chopra were given lifetime awards in recognition of their service to Indian cricket.

In other awards, newcomer of the year on the men’s side went to Mayank Agarwal, whilst teenage sensation 15-year old Shafali Verma was the recipient of the women’s award.

Shivam Dube of Mumbai was given the Lala Amarnath Award for the best all-rounder in the Ranji Trophy, with Delhi’s Nitish Rana recognised for his exploits in limited overs’ cricket.

The best woman in senior domestic cricket was named as Deepti Sharma, with Shafali again recognised in the junior category.

The best umpire in domestic cricket was adjudged to be Virender Sharma.

Rounding out the ceremony, the Vidarbha Cricket Association were presented with the best performance in domestic cricket award for winning the Ranji Trophy.



About India Bet

India Bet
India Bet specialise in providing information about the best Sports Betting and Online Casino bonuses which apply specifically to Indian based players. Read the reviews and also pick up some great value free bet offers. If you would like to know any further information, you can contact us at [email protected]

Check Also

Pujara Joins Select Group

Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara has joined a select group of batsmen by scoring his 50th …